ESPN STAR Sports partners Fox Sports to showcase Nokia CLT20 2011 in Australia

ESPN STAR Sports, the official broadcaster and commercial partner of Nokia Champions League Twenty20, announced today its multi-platform partnership with Fox Sports to showcase the tournament when it kicks off this month.

The broadcast deal includes rights to telecast the tournament matches LIVE and exclusive on-air, online and on the mobile platform, aiming to extend the popularity and reach of the tournament to fans in Australia.

Representing Australia in the third edition of Nokia Champions League Twenty20 are the Southern Redbacks and the New South Wales Blues ' the winner and runner-up of the domestic KFC Twenty20 Big Bash. The NSW Blues, the inaugural winner of the Champions League Twenty20, will feature local heroes in Stuart Clark, Philip Hughes, Simon Katich, David Warner and Shane Watson; while the Southern Redbacks will have Daniel Christian, Michael Klinger and Shaun Tait forming the Australian contingent.

In addition, the tournament will feature more than 100 experienced international players across 13 teams, including a strong line up of top Australians such as Brett Lee and Brad Haddin from Kolkata Knight Riders, as well as Mike Hussey and Doug Bollinger from the Chennai Super Kings. Amongst the most illustrious names in the game of cricket will also line up for their Twenty20 teams when the tournament kicks off this month, such as Sachin Tendulkar (India), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India), Jean-Paul Duminy (South Africa), Harbhajan Singh (India), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Doug Bollinger (Australia), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Kieron Pollard (West Indies), and Jacques Kallis (South Africa).

Said Manu Sawhney, ESPN STAR Sports' Managing Director: "We are very pleased to have such an enthusiastic partner in Fox Sports, who will showcase this premium event across the internet and on mobile, in addition to broadcasting it on television. As the World Championship of top Twenty20 teams from various countries, the Nokia Champions League Twenty20 continues to enjoy a strong following across a major cricket-playing country and we're committed to further build on that popularity along with them."

ESPN STAR Sports will showcase the event with its world-class production and presentation package, having lined-up many engaging and entertaining production initiatives, including a specialist commentary team for all 29 matches to be played across four venues - Hyderabad, Kolkata, Chennai and Bangalore. The line-up includes Harsha Bhogle, Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, Kepler Wessels, HD Ackerman, Ian Chappell, Tom Moody, Ian Bishop and Alan Wilkins.

The Nokia Champions League Twenty20 marks the grand finale of the T20 cricket season with champion teams from various countries across the world battle for the ultimate honour. For the first time, this year's event featured a six-team qualifier that determined the final three participants in the group stage. The qualifiers were played in Hyderabad from 19-21 September, while the final 10-team Nokia Champions League Twenty20 starts in Bengaluru on Friday, 23 September and ends with the final on Sunday, 9 October in Chennai.

In addition to Fox Sports, ESPN STAR Sports extended its comprehensive line-up of global syndication partners that will showcase the tournament with TEN Sports, Pakistan's Number One Sports Channel, extending the broadcast territories to more than 175 territories worldwide. ESPN STAR Sports is the global television production partner and exclusive commercial rights partner for the Champions League T20 till 2018.


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Marketing