Political debate with CM @ Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year Awards 2018

Lokmat, Maharashtra’s and Pune’s Number 1 newspaper, hosted the 5th edition of its highest platform of recognition - ‘UPL presents Lokmat Maharashtrian of the year Awards 2018 powered by Money Trade Coin Group. This initiative by Lokmat honored the most exceptional work done by individuals in their respective sectors. Power packed with eminent political bigwigs, it witnessed 1st time Shri Devendra Fadnavis in an explosive interview with Mr. Sanjay Raut, Executive Editor, Dainik Saamna. The event with 360 degree marketing is one of the sought after and well attended events in Mumbai which boasts of 70 nominees, 17 winners, 15 jury members, 4500 audience backed by 1st of its kind unique content in the presence of people as Piyush Goyal, Akshay Kumar, Kareena Kapoor Khan, Ravi Shastri, Shreya Ghoshal amongst others.  The event got a multimedia presence amplified in print, digital, outdoor, PR and TV. The awards received an overall 360 degree media reach of 150 MN and online voting of 2.2 MN. #MaharashtrianoftheYear was trending for 24hrs with a reach of 20 MN on Twitter. The event was executed by Taplight.

Winners of 2018 -

Sr. No.




Maharashtra Bhushan

Piyush Goyal


Power Icon

Kareena Kapoor


Social Influencer

Akshay Kumar


Maharashtracha Abhimaan

Ravi Shastri


Lifetime Achievement

Dr. D. Y. Patil


Social Service

Dinkar Kamble


Social Service

Shantilal Muttha



Aakanksha Hagawane


Theatre (Male)

Chandrakant Kulkarni


Theatre (Female)

Rutuja Bagwe


Film (Male)

Sumeet Raghavan


Film (Female)

Sonali Kulkarni


Film (Female)

Sumitra Bhave


Performing Arts

Shreya Ghoshal



Dr. Milind Kirtane



Rahul Dhoot


IAS - Promising

G. Sreekanth


IPS - Promising

Abhinav Deshmukh


Powerful Politician

Dhananjay Munde


Powerful Politician

Poonam Mahajan



Procter & Gamble


Esteemed jury for the 2018 award ceremony included Mr. Prakash Javdekar (Union Minister), Shri Prithviraj Chauhan (Former Chief Minister of Maharashtra), Padma Shri Dr. Abhay Bang renowned social worker, Dr. Rajendra Bhadwe (Oncologist), Mr. Vikram Shroff (Executive Director, UPL), Dr. Bhalchandra Mungekar (Former MP, Economist & Ex-Vice Chancellor), Mr. Prasoon Joshi (Chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification), Mr. Raj Nayak (CEO Colors-Viacom 18), Mr. Anu Malik (Music Director), Mr. Ajay-Atul (Music Director-Composer), Mr. Rahul  Joshi (Group Editor, Network 18), Ms. Nivedita Saraf (Marathi Actress), Mr. Ravi Jadhav (Film Director) Mr. Ayaz Memon (Sports Journalist) and Mr. Vijay Darda, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha (1998-2016) & Chairman - Lokmat Media Group). 

Founder of LMOTY – Mr. Rishi Darda, Joint Managing & Editorial Director, Lokmat Media Group said, “Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year Awards is a true testament of the dedication and sheer hard work of people who emerge winners due to their contribution in that area. With a huge round of expectation from our readers and partners, this event brings people from sports, lifestyle, cinema and politics on one platform bringing out the best in each one of them through candid conversations. The interview of Shri Devendra Fadnavis, prior to elections, has been one of the most viral videos from the event and has taken the social media by storm. Content and great engagement with readers is something that Lokmat stands for. ”  

“I am extremely delighted that we have honored the eminent personalities who are drivers of change in Maharashtra through Maharashtrian of the year. The awards are a testimony of the positive impact made by individuals to promote Maharashtra on the national and global platform and from UPL we are happy to be part of this uniquely prestigious property that involves great level of public voting as well as a jury shortlist process. Apart from print of Lokmat, the property is amplified in other media and through noteworthy alliances which gives us a widespread visibility.” said Mr. Jai Shroff, Global CEO, UPL – Presenting Sponsor.

Partners of the event were – Presenting partner – UPL, powered by Money Trade Coin Group, investment partner – IIFL, realty partner – Sai Estate Consultant, jewelry partner – Goodwin, outdoor partner – Bright Outdoor, associate partner – New India Assurance, intellectual partner – Crossword, radio partner – 92.7Big FM, mobility partner - Ola and TV news partner – ABP News and ABP Majha. The TV partners of the event - ABP News and ABP Majha telecasted a special episode on April 15th to show the highlights of the event for a larger TV audience.   



News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Media